Pages inside a funny book about teeth

Finding Children’s Books About Dentistry in Katy, TX

Katy, TX – One of the best ways to prepare your child for the dentist is to expose them to dentistry early on. A lot of fear and anxiety associated with going to the dentist stems from uncertainty about what’s going to happen in the office. Kids see tons of media that portrays the dentist as a scary, intimidating person that will cause them pain. By introducing them to the idea of the dentist in a positive light, they’re more likely to be open and even excited about going to their dental appointments!

The next time you’re picking up a book for your child, consider getting them one of the toothy tales below! It can help start up the conversation about oral hygiene early on with a story that’s easy to understand. Here are our favorites:

The Berenstain Bears Visit the Dentist – Stan & Jan Berenstain

Who doesn’t love a family of talking animals? (Spoiler: That’s definitely a recurring theme in the next few books. Kids just relate better to animals than adults we suppose?) In this edition of the Berenstain Bears, Brother and Sister Bear need to go the dentist. Though Brother and Sister Bear are initially nervous about their appointment, they realize the appointment is nothing to be scared about.

In the book, they learn about loose teeth, cavities, and oral care with the help of their friendly, fuzzy bear dentist. We love how this book explains why it’s necessary to see the dentist every six months with kid-friendly illustrations. Your child may be a tad disappointed that their dentist isn’t an adorable bear after reading this book, but it’s still a great introduction to what going to the dentist is like!

The Tooth Book – Dr. Seuss

For the young, prodigious poet, a Dr. Seuss book will explain the complicated process of visiting a dentist in just a few quirky rhymes. Fans of The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham will adore this ode to teeth. This story is both entertaining and information.  Readers will learn about how important teeth are not only to humans, but all walks of life! It’s so simple and easy to understand, even toddlers will enjoy!

The Crocodile and the Dentist – Taro Gomi

Lots of patients are scared of the dentist, but what happens when the dentist is scared of the patient? In this humorous picture book, a dentist must work with a crocodile who needs a checkup. Both characters are equally frightened, but they both learn that their fears were based off false assumptions of each other. If your child is wary about going to the dentist, this is a fun spin on a going to the dentist that’ll put your child at ease with a couple of laughs.

The story also emphasizes why we need to maintain our oral hygiene habits at home. Brushing, flossing, and rinsing our mouths will help prevent cavities and make cleanings much easier. It makes a nice read before bed, so you can show your child how to brush their teeth properly right after.

Peppa Pig: Dentist Trip

Peppa Pig isn’t just a popular animated series anymore. To the delight of Peppa’s many fans, parents can read about her adventures with their children now in her storybook collection, too.

In Peppa Pig: Dentist Trip, the spunky little pig take her her younger brother, George, to the dentist for the first time. Though he’s reluctant to admit it, George is a bit nervous about the visit. Once he’s there, however, the dentist, Dr. Elephant, is kind and gentle. The relatable characters in the story can reassure your child to trust the dentist for their first trip. It’s also heartwarming to see the bond between Peppa and George. Her positive influence on him sets a mature example for siblings when they go to the dentist.

Curious George Visits the Dentist – Margret & H.A. Rey

If a monkey can visit the dentist, so can your child! When George needs to visit the dentist, the little troublemaker causes a ruckus out of fear, but he’s surprised to find out that the dental exam isn’t so bad after all. His dentist teaches him about better dental hygiene and helps him treat a wiggly tooth.

Like George, many children are afraid of seeing the dentist because they’re afraid of going alone. Let them know that you’ll be there to help them every step of the way like the man in George’s story. At Kids Healthy Teeth, you can also tour the office before the actual appointment to calm any nerves.

Little Critter: Just Going to the Dentist’s – Mercer Mayer

As the title expresses, going to the dentist is no big deal. It’s just going to the dentist! This story explains the process of treating a cavity at the dentist with our favorite little critter. The prospect of getting a cavity filled can be terrifying for children, but this book quells those fears. It walks the reader through every step of getting a filling alongside a furry friend.

Remind your child that the scary thing is not getting a cavity treated! Without a filling, cavities can get infected, resulting in an abscess and painful, damaged root pulp. The pediatric dentist can explain the procedure and show your child all the equipment that will be used. After holding a drill and water pick in their hands, these dental tools won’t seem half as frightening.

Tooth Trouble – Jane Clark

Even walruses need to see the dentist! When Wilbur the Walrus’s tusk starts to hurt, his grandfather persuades him to visit the dentist for a checkup. Coupled with charming illustrations about a walrus family, this story shows how easy and important dental hygiene is, so you can eat, speak, and smile. Though your child may not have tusks, the premise of the story is universal – we need our teeth and our teeth need good dental care.

The Night Before the Tooth Fairy – Natasha Wing

Of all the childhood myths and fantasies we were told, the tooth fairy is definitely our favorite (Santa is a close second). There’s no better representation of the magic and mystery of growing up than the tooth fairy. This book, however, talks about the struggle of getting that tooth out in the first place. With a little tugging, some children can extract their first tooth all on their one while others may need help from parents or the dentist. Either way, this story will help motivate your child to pull out that tooth in anticipation of the tooth fairy.

Taking good care of baby teeth and having them fall out in a timely manner is crucial for your child’s dental health. Baby teeth stimulate the jaw and bones to grow. They also hold space for permanent teeth to grow in correctly, so your child has a balanced bite. Make sure to visit the orthodontist for an early evaluation by the age of 7 to see if your child’s teeth and jaws are developing properly.

Maisy, Charley, and the Wobbly Tooth: A Maisy First Experience Book – Lucy Cousins

In this story, Maisy’s friend Charley gets his first wobbly tooth. Because he’s never been to the dentist, Maisy, Tallulah, Eddie and Cyril accompany him to the dentist’s office. To his delight, the amiable dentist is able to treat his problem with no problem!

We’re fond of this story because it describes Charley’s experience in detail, from the twirly chair, to the x-ray, and tooth brushing after. The simple drawings and plot are easy to follow, a excellent read to prep your child for their first visit to the pediatric dentist.

Junie B. Jones, First Grader: Toothless Wonder – Barbara Park

Ever since her galvanic debut in kindergarten, Junie B. Jones has been a hero and icon to us all. This time, Junie has got a loose front tooth and she’s dealing with it the only way she knows how – a lot of sass and shenanigans. Rather than just go over the basics of dental hygiene, this chapter book talks about the social aspect of losing teeth, the skeptical curiosity about the tooth fairy, and of course, going to the dentist. The story will have you laughing out loud over Junie B’s ridiculous antics, but it’ll also shed light on how it really feels to have a loose tooth for the first time.

And there you have it, our favorite books about dentistry for children! If you’d like to pick one up in Katy, here are a few local libraries and bookstores that you can stop by:

Katy Library

5414 Franz Rd

Katy, TX 77493

Cinco Ranch Library

2620 Commercial Center Blvd

Katy, TX 77494

Maud Smith Marks Library

1815 Westgreen Blvd

Katy, TX 77450

Books-A-Million

5000 Katy Mills Cir #221

Katy, TX 77494

Barnes & Noble

19710 Clay Rd

Katy, TX 77449

Katy Budget Books

2450 Fry Rd

Houston, TX 77084

After reading all these books, taking your child to a pediatric dentist is an excellent way to get them excited about their oral health. Pediatric dentists are trained specifically to operate and communicate with kids. At Kids Healthy Teeth, we walk our young patients through the process of an oral exam and cleaning, so there are no surprises. Our pediatric dentists can treat patients from infanthood to the teenage years. We emphasize the importance of building organic relationships between our providers and patients, so they feel at home when they are the dentist’s. Feel free to give us a call if you’re interested in booking an appointment today!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *